Gift from the Sea-Anne Morrow Lindbergh

by Emily

Originally published in 1955, this is a book whose relevance has not been diminished by time. I recently read this and found myself immensely touched by the ideas presented. I’m honestly a little surprised I didn’t post about it immediately after reading it. I’m remedying that now.

From the first chapter, this is the quote I’m embracing today:

The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. To dig for treasure shows not only impatience and greed, but lack of faith. Patience, patience, patience, is what the sea teaches. Patience and faith. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach-waiting for a gift from the sea.

The entire book,barely one hundred pages, is written as simply and beautifully as that short passage. As I’m working on revising my senior capstone project (a collection of poems), I’m appreciating the inspiration I’m drawing from her words.

