Reminiscing

by Emily

About a year ago, I wrote a post about a birthday present I received from a boy in my life.

Yesterday was my birthday again (crazy, it comes every year!). So much has changed in this past year. I have made significant life changes; I have loved and lost; I have found new friends and new love; and I have grown tremendously.

I didn’t get a dog yesterday. I’d still love a real dog, but that wouldn’t be feasible in my current situation. Instead, I was greeted with balloons, a kiss, and the promise of my own houseboat (size debatable) as soon as he can find one (any suggestions? please comment!).

Last year I went out to dinner at one of my favorite restaurants with some of my favorite people. This year I went out to dinner with some of my favorite people, and the tone of the evening was markedly different. I felt at ease last night, comfortable in my own skin and with those around me.

Also, as one of the best gifts I could have received, I got word a close friend is back in the country and hopefully coming for a visit in the next week (fingers crossed!).

It was a wonderful birthday and I’m glad I have so much to be grateful for.

Lots of love and here’s to another year survived!

